The Story of Orpheus Death is only death if love survives it

La mort n'est que la mort Akadêmia


  • Battaglia, Andrea Falconieri
  • Lasciate Averno, Luigi Rossi
  • Canzonetta, Tarquinio Merula
  • Toccata arpeggiata, Johannes Hieronymus Kapsberger
  • Not (Combattimento), Claudio Monteverdi
  • Rosa del ciel (Orfeo), Claudio Monteverdi
  • Tu sei morta (Orfeo), Claudio Monteverdi
  • Possente spirto (Orfeo), Claudio Monteverdi
  • Funeste piagge (Euridice), Giolio Caccini
  • Orfeo son io (Orfeo), Claudio Monteverdi
  • Qual honor di te fia degno (Orfeo), Claudio Monteverdi
  • Lamento d’Orfeo, Sigismondo d’India
  • Passacaille, Biagio Marini
  • Gioite (La morte d’Orfeo), Stefano Landi

The legend of Orpheus is the very foundation of poetry.
The singer, peace-loving and marginal, torn between the world of the sun and that of darkness, divided between the cult of Apollo and that of Dionysus, and who descends into the realm of the Underworld with his song as his only weapon to regain his love – all of this we know already . . . or think we do . . .

But what precedes and above all what follows this story is much more cruel and mysterious. This is what we wished to explore when we commissioned a poem from a poet of today and intertwined it with the finest Italian music of the seventeenth century that evokes Orpheus.
In our own way we have created a new ‘fable in music’, which is of course inspired by Monteverdi, but leads us into heady contemporary realms.

Text : Jean-Pierre SIMEON
Actor : to be confirmed

5 instrumentalists


No post


A la découverte d'Orphée